Baby Essentials… from a first time mom!

I don’t think first time moms give themselves enough credit!

Often times they think that because they’re “new” at the whole motherhood thing that means they aren’t qualified to give advice. But you know who helped me the most when I had my daughter and was leaning it all myself?

Yup– my friends who were new moms! They are IN it and living it everyday! Who better to ask?

All the suggestions my new mommy friends gave me were great, and I am so excited to share with you guys a few of my all-time favorite products. These are the things we use day in and day out, and the products that Audriana loved the most when she was a newborn.

B A T H   T I M E 

Baths have always been part our bedtime routine, even when Audriana was a newborn. This tub has been so easy to use and has a lot of great features. Our sink is kind of small and I was worried that it wouldn’t fit on top of it, but it actually fits perfectly (and would also fit a lager sink too– the design is genius).

IMG_1828

I love how there is a built-in thermometer which will beep once the water gets too hot or too cold. It even comes with a rinse cup (and cup holder)! The two chambers allow for clean water to flow in while the dirty water flows out. And you can plug both chambers to keep warm water in, especially once your babe discovers how to splash and play during bath time.

4Moms Infant Tub, White

81QrVNSC81L._SL1500_

Aiden and Anais Hooded Towel Set

c26-B002SXMMIU-1-l

One of my all-time favorite gifts that we received are these hooded towels. They are just the cutest, and super functional. The best part is that your baby will continue to use these as she grows since most hooded towels are oversized. I love this set by Aiden and Anais because it is fluffy and soft. If you don’t know this brand, look them up! Their entire line is perfection (and you will see some more from them below!)

For a less expensive option, I also really love the hoods on these:

Hudson Baby Animal Face Hooded Towel

 


B E D   T I M E 

The best thing I learned in my parenting class/during my hospital stay was how to swaddle a newborn! It makes them feel cozy, safe and secure, which helps them sleep better! There are all kinds of swaddles out there but I personally love these Aiden and Anais sets for a few reasons…

aden + anais Muslin Swaddle Plus, Baby Star

aden and anais swaddles

Not only are they adorable and come in tons of cute prints and patterns, they are also very soft and make great lightweight blankets for when your baby is too old to be swaddled (so you are not just using them for a few months). I use mine as stroller blankets and for naps. They also make bibs with the same material and patterns too!

This mobile has been a lifesaver for us! Audriana had a hard time falling asleep in her crib, but now she puts herself to sleep every night (and even reaches up to change the music on the mobile herself! EEK)!

Fisher-Price Smart Connect Deluxe Projection Mobile

71pwdVDg5wL._SY679_

It protects and it also turns while playing your choice of lullaby or soothing sound. Set up is easy and it connects right to the side of the crib.

 

 

D I A P E R I N G 

I think that diapers and wipes are very much a personal decision. You have to try out different brands and see what works best for you and your baby. We tried a few other brands, but I always come back to Honest. They are absorbent, don’t leak and Audriana has never had a diaper rash or a massive blow out, especially now that she is a little wiggle worm! The seasonal prints are also adorable and make me smile every time I change her diaper (yes– even if it is a big stinky one– you can’t help it!).

Check out A in her fireworks from 4th of July weekend… you’ll see what I mean!

FullSizeRender

The Honest Company makes it easy for you to always be stocked up. Their diaper and wipe bundle will not only save you money, it also comes automatically to your door step, so you’re never without! You can customize prints and sizes, and even change the delivery date if you need to.

You’ll receive 6 packs of diapers and 4 packs of wipes with your bundle.

Screen Shot 2017-08-24 at 3.04.55 PM

PS— look at their cute limited edition fall prints! I am in LOVE with all of them (we just got our September bundle yesterday and they are even better in person). Check them out here.

F E E D I N G 

When it comes to bottles, I feel like I could open up a shop. We have SO many because we were desperately looking for the perfect bottle that wouldn’t create any excess gas. I felt like Audriana was living on gas drop the first few weeks of her life because she was ALWAYS so gassy and uncomfortable. Then we tried Dr. Brown’s bottles, and she was a totally different baby!

c7174680a3959d2a80af9d040248051b--dr-brown-bottles-best-baby-bottles

Dr. Brown’s Original Bottle, 8 ounce, 4-Pack

Dr. Brown’s are specifically made for babies who are colic/gassy. They have an inside chamber that reduces the amount of air that babies suck while drinking. HOWEVER… and this is a total disclaimer… so don’t say I didn’t warn you… they have A TON OF PIECES! You will curse me when you clean them. BUT on the flip side, you will be happy that your babe is comfortable and smiley! #worthit

We are still using these, and actually just yesterday I learned that the 8oz “options” bottles (different from above– I will link them below) do not require the chamber, so if you get sick and tired of cleaning all of the pieces (ahem, ME!) then you can simply remove the chamber later on.

21105997_10209987988200602_6447447421960017247_n

Dr. Brown’s Options Narrow Feeding Set, clear

Now that A is a little bit older and can try more foods, I love giving her one of these Munchkin mesh feeders filled with frozen mango. It is perfect for babies about 6 months and up… they can teeth on something cold and enjoy tasting something sweet at the same time with any choking hazards.

Fresh Food Feeder, 2 Pack, Blue/Green

IMG_3098

 

 

P L A Y   T I M E 

I could probably post about 100 different toys that A loves to play with (mainly boxes and bins fill with my stuff that she likes to pull out) but I just picked one great item that she uses every single day!

Our Joovy walker was actually a recommendation from my friend Danielle, and it was one of the best things we received from our registry. This walker may seem “bare bones” because it doesn’t have anything attached, but I think that is what makes it so great!

JoovySpoon

Joovy Spoon Baby Walker

Since the surface is large and empty, your baby can play with any toy she is loving at the moment. I think this is smart— because her walker will grow with her! Right now I put teething rings and some musical toys on it for her everyday, and she keeps herself occupied as she rolls around our house. Suction toys (also know as “high chair” toys) are perfect for this!

The best part? If you are short on space it FOLDS UP flat! So you can store it somewhere when it’s not in use. Love that.

FullSizeRender 2

Some of A’s favorite toys to play with on her walker:

Baby Teether Toys 3-Pack by Infantino Sparkle Jinglin’ Gem Jittery Pal with Jittery Action and Rattle Sounds, Ideal Gift for a Baby Shower

Infantino Sparkle Lil’ Gem Chime Pal

Infantino Pat and Play Water Mat

 

 

D R E S S  U P 

One day I will do a full blog post on where I shop for A, but for now I thought I would link some of our go-to sites.

I buy a ton of pieces that you can mix and match from ALL OVER! Seriously! Target, Baby Gap, Old Navy, Denny’s and Janie + Jack are a few of my favorites. Here are some of her greatest hits (so far!) and where I shopped for them…

LEFT: Romper is from Denny’s, bow is from Babies R Us.

MIDDLE:  Dress is from Janie + Jack , bow is from Babies R Us.

RIGHT: Top is from Old Navy, leggings are from Cater’s, bow is from Angel Face Headbands. (Note: the top isn’t available anymore but I linked my most favorite pieces from Old Navy baby right now instead!)

I also like to buy a few things every season from Nordstrom. My favorite thing I have gotten her so far from there is a pair of baby Ugg boots!!! These are for both walkers and crawlers and they have a velcro opening to get them on and off easily. I love the bow!!! Perfect for her!

Screen Shot 2017-08-24 at 4.04.03 PM

I hope you love some of my recommendations and that if you are expecting or a brand new mom that this helped you! If you are neither, but know someone who is, all of these items would be fabulous gifts!

Did I leave out something you think is awesome? Let me know in the comments! I would love to hear your favorites as well.

Leave a comment